WorkBright will create duplicate E-Verify cases. A new E-Verify case will be created for an employee when a new I-9 is completed IF:
There is already a closed E-Verify case for that employee OR
If there is an open E-Verify case that does not have an E-Verify Case ID (submission errors/internal errors)
Multiple form submissions for the same employee.
Errors in employee information, such as incorrect names.
Rehired employees with previously authorized E-Verify cases.
When the duplicate case is created, you will see a Duplicate Case Alert that requires an admin to take action. In the dropdown menu, you will need to select a Duplicate Case Reason from the dropdown. Additionally, navigate to the employee's Form I-9 in the Forms section, click the three dots next to Form I-9, and select "View all submissions" to identify and address any duplicate submissions. For cases without a Case ID (e.g., in Submission Error or Internal Error status), use the 'Delete Case' button in the E-Verify case window to remove it. For cases that can be closed, select the status 'Closed - Other.'
The Duplicate Case Reasons are:
Rehire
Incorrect information entered
DHS (Department of Homeland Security) has asked me to create a new case
SSA (Social Security Administration) has asked me to create a new case
Previous case results: Resubmit
Other (full explanation required)
Close out other cases: Make sure all other E-Verify cases are closed out. Most E-Verify case statuses will allow you to close out the duplicate case as Closed - Other. For cases submitted with incorrect employee information, delete or close the incorrect case and request a new Form I-9 submission from the employee to generate a new E-Verify case. If an I-9 case shows an error despite being closed and authorized, treat it as a duplicate and select a "duplicate case" reason to close or resolve the case. For rehired employees with an authorized E-Verify case, do not resubmit a new case. Instead, allow the new attempt to move to a "Closed – Other" status or use the "Skip E-Verify" setting for updated onboarding.
